Roofing Technology Think Tank (RT3), a group of progressive roofing professionals focused on technology solutions for the roofing industry, announced that it has opened the nomination period for the 2023 Innovator of the Year Award.

This award was created to nationally recognize a roofing contractor that has contributed to the advancement of the roofing industry through technical innovation and/or product development in one of the following areas: 

  • Production/Technology Efficiency 
  • Safety Innovation 
  • Client Service/Quality of Delivery  
  • Employee Recruitment/Training/Retention 
  • Environmental Impact 

Award judging criteria will be based on innovation, results, design and strategy. Nominations are reviewed blindly by a team of RT3 members who select the winner. The 2023 recipient will be announced at the Best of Success conference, Dec. 3-5, 2023, at the Omni Frisco Hotel in Frisco, Texas. 

To be eligible, a roofing contractor must be licensed and bonded for a minimum of five years and have a minimum $2 million in annual revenue. They also must be a member of a professional industry association and be able to cite community enrichment ties through support of non-profits or company culture programs.

Previous winners include Joe Hoffman of Minneapolis, Minn.-based Hoffman Weber Construction (2022), Ken Kelly of Naples, Florida-based Kelly Roofing (2021), Scott Riopelle of Denver, Colo.-based Interstate Roofing (2020) and Curtis Sutton of Carthage, Tenn.-based Rackley Roofing (2019).  

For more information and to submit an award application visit There is a $50 nomination fee to cover processing and award costs. The nomination period closes Sept. 30, 2023.